Folding Fitted Sheets

Oh what a joy to behold,

A sheet.

Folded,

By one who knows how to fold.

I’m sure I can’t be the first person to wax poetic on the subject of folding sheets… or maybe I am. But really, there is something so incredibly satisfying about a really nicely folded fitted sheet.

That is why I am sadened to find that there are many people in this world who have no idea how to fold a fitted sheet. There are far to many crumpled bottom sheets sitting in the linen closets of the world simply for lack of instruction.

I can’t remember if it was my mother or grandmother who taught me this, but either one would be thrilled to have a little more order spread to the rest of the world, so here, step by step, is…

FOLDING FITTED SHEETS

sheet1

Step 1:

Turn sheet so that fitted portion is facing you and put your hands into each top corner, grasping the corners with your fingers.

sheet2

Step 2:

Fold sheet in half and tuck one corner into the other so that one is completely consumed by the other, repeat with bottom half.

Sheet3

Step 3:

Smooth sheet and fold in half horizontally, with fitted portions on the inside.

sheet4

Step 4:

Fold in half one more time, with the squared off corner on top. If you desire a slightly smaller fold, fold rounded corner into the center first, then finish with squared corner.

Sheet5

Voila! A Sheet worthy of something Shakespearean.

One response to “Folding Fitted Sheets

  1. Hey! Thanks for the comment, your post on folding sheets is very useful 🙂
    My DB loves bagels and I defs am going to whip up a batch. I see that you crochet, I still haven’t got past being able to chain. Any tips on how to single crochet?

Leave a Reply

