Mango 101

What you need

So I was at the store the other day and there was this big display that said “Mangoes $2 a BOX” Could I resist it? No I could not. But now I have a box worth of mangoes and have to think of ways to use them. Lucky for all you folks out there I happen to be an expert at using mangoes.

Ok so maybe not an expert… but I’m as resourceful as the next gal and more important, I know the secret to getting a perfectly cut mango easy. My mom taught me. I think she learned it from a Poirot episode. (Correct me if I’m wrong Mom.)

So, Mango 101. You’ll need to know this for the recipes that follow.

First you’ll need the tools shown above, big knife, big spoon, chopping board and of course, mango.

Cutting around the pit

To start, cut around the pit using your large knife.

Spooning out the pit

Next, using your large spoon, scrape between the pit and the fruit to remove one side of the fruit.

Scooped mango

It should look like the picture above.

Again! Again!

Repeat.

Slicin' and Dicin'

Now, using your knife, cut the size dice or slice you want into the flesh, but don’t go through the skin.

Whoopsy Daisy!

This is the fun part. Turn the mango inside out.

Slicing it all away

Wow, that was cool… Ok, now slice the off the pieces that are sticking out.

Voila!

And there you have it. Diced mango. All ready for whatever we want to create!

Leave a Reply

